The Kistefos Museum and Sculpture Park was founded in 1996 upon the initative of Mr. Christen Sveaas. It occupies the site of the old wood-pulp mill which was founded by Consul Anders Sveaas in 1889 and run by the family until it was closed in 1995. The old factory now houses an industrial museum which hosts annual, shifting exhibitions in addition to the sculpture park which focus is sight specific and international contemporary works of art.
The internationally renowned Danish architectural firm BIG – Bjarke Ingels Group has designed the spectacular new museum building with the unique art hall that is to be built at Kistefos-Museet.
The new museum building, which will open autumn 2019, will make Kistefos-Museet more modern and visitor friendly. The background for the project is to establish a modern art hall for exhibitions of contemporary art, while creating space for the expansion of the sculpture park on both sides of the Randselva river. The new building is funded with gifts from Christen Sveaas and Kistefos AS, as well as from various foundations
For further information on the museum, current exhibitions and opening hours refer to kistefosmuseum.no